• Album review: Daughtry (by Daughtry)
  • Album review: Daughtry (by Daughtry)
    Written by battye
    Wed Jul 09, 2008 3:37 pm

    Finally, American Idol produced something worth listening to. As with all "Idol" contestents, perhaps excluding perhaps Kelly Clarkson, who has done very well for herself, the novelty wears off very quickly after their first single has been released. Chris Daughtry can count himself lucky that he didn't win the competition, I think it's best for him that he distances himself from that "Idol" image which typically represents failure.

    Commercially, Chris Daughtry has been very successful. His first single, "It's Not Over", stayed on the Billboard chart's top 40 for nearly a year, while his subsequent singles, particularly "Used To" and "Home" have also charted highly. The self titled album, Daughtry, released on RCA, spent 27 of its first 28 weeks in the Billboard 200 top 10, and like "It's Not Over", spent nearly a year in the top 40. The album debuted in November 2006 and had better sales than both Taylor Hicks and Katherine McPhee, who both placed better in the "Idol" competition with over 300,000 first week sales.

    When singing, Chris Daughtry has a unique blend of rock and pop, although he stated that Daughtry was written purely as a rock album. Songs such as "Home" and "Feels Like Tonight" at times feel to have a tempo too slow for genuine rock, and as a result "Home" was nominated for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocal in the Grammy's. The album was also nominated for Best Rock Album, while "It's Not Over" was nominated for Best Rock Song and Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals.

    The instrumental backings for each track are superb, albeit if they were by session performers. Each musician supported Chris Daughtry's vocals well, led by Josh Freese on the drums, Phil Xenidis on guitar and Paul Bushnell and Chris Chaney on bass. Xenidus' work in "Breakdown" was at times reminiscent of John Frusciante from the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

    As for Chris Daughtry's future, it is believed he is working on a new album, and has formed a band with new musicians including Josh Steely on lead guitar and Joey Barnes on drums. Forever he will have "Idol" lingering over him - hopefully it doesn't impact on how people perceive him, because he is better than the average "Idol" has-been and never-was-been.

    Track listing

    1. It's Not Over
    2. Used To
    3. Home
    4. Over You
    5. Crashed
    6. Feels Like Tonight
    7. What I Want
    8. Breakdown
    9. Gone
    10. There And Back Again
    11. All These Lives
    12. What About Now
  • Article search