• Album review: Sawdust by The Killers
  • Album review: Sawdust by The Killers
    Written by battye
    Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:24 am

    To most people, Sawdust would simply be another album full of new songs. Not the case. Sawdust is in fact an album made up of B sides to old singles, re-releases and remixes of the bands major hits. It really is just leftovers, hence the name "Sawdust".

    What made this album special was the song Tranquilize, which was a collaboration between lead vocalist Brandon Flowers and former Underground Velvet member Lou Reed. Tranquilize achieved a short period of success on iTunes, and reached top 15 in the United Kingdom. It is not hard to see why this track was the most successful of the album, The Killers alt rock style and Lou Reed's distinctive vocal technique is an intriguing yet appealing match. At 65 years of age, Reed wasn't bad. His outro displayed decent vocal ability (he's still got it!), but understandably throughout the song, at times he chose to sing an octave or two lower than Flowers who has a tendency to fluctuate his pitch through the chorus especially.

    Sam's Town and Mr. Brightside were both remixed and included on Sawdust, and better yet, the remixes are actually half decent. The Sam's Town remix was perhaps a bit weak, something worth listening to as you fall asleep. The Mr. Brightside remix doesn't rival the original, but has a good dance beat and is worth a listen, if you have a spare 10 minutes.

    Move Away is a fresh title, which many will be familiar with from its recent appearance in Spiderman 3 and subsequently, its soundtrack. Arguably one of the better songs on the album, full stop, it wouldn't be surprising if Move Away is released as a single at some point. Both Tranquilize and Shadowplay were released as singles via the iTunes music store in 2007.

    In my opinion, Sawdust doesn't even compare to Sam's Town, but that is understandable as many of the tracks are re-releases from that album and Hot Fuss, so hearing them again in a different format is not as enjoying as hearing something fresh. To the bands credit, several tracks were new, so "Sawdust" does have an appeal to existing fans. To someone picking up the CD with no pre-existing knowledge of The Killers discography, it would be a good investment, albeit if it is a bit top heavy with old material, particularly re-recordings.

    Track listing

    1. Tranquilize
    2. Shadowplay
    3. All The Pretty Faces
    4. Leave The Bourbon On The Shelf
    5. Sweet Talk
    6. Under The Gun
    7. Where The White Boys Dance
    8. Show You How
    9. Move Away
    10. Glamorous Indie Rock & Roll
    11. Who Let You Go
    12. The Ballad Of Michael Valentine
    13. Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town
    14. Daddy's Eyes
    15. Sam's Town (Abbey Road version)
    16. Romeo and Juliet
    17. Mr. Brightside (Jacques Lu Cont's Thin White Duke Remix) + Questions With The Captain (Hidden Track)

    Change Your Mind and Read My Mind (Gabriel and Dresden Remix) are bonus tracks on the album.
  • Article search